Rotary’s highest honour recognises Rotarians who demonstrate Rotary’s motto, Service Above Self, by volunteering their time and talents to help others.  The award is internationally competitive and is granted to no more than 150 Rotarians worldwide, and no more than one from each district, each year.
To deserve consideration for the Service Above Self Award, a Rotarian must have performed continuing humanitarian service in any form.  This award is intended to recognise especially those who actively help others through Rotary.  It is not awarded solely in recognition of one’s performance in an elected or appointed Rotary assignment, and financial contributions to The Rotary Foundation or specific projects will not be considered.
Name Club Year District
Dr Alan Gale Northbridge 1991-92 9680
Les Whitcroft Ryde 1992-93 9680
John Moon North Sydney 1993-94 9680
Ron Marcus Castle Hill 1995-96 9680
John Phillips Gosford 1997-98 9680
Walter Leijten East Gosford 2002-03 9680
Bill Lee Crows Nest 2003-04 9680
Bill Jacobs Hunters Hill 2005-06 9680
Peter Pearce Gosford North 2006-07 9680
Ian Howden Turramurra 2006-07 9680
Bjorn Kollberg Crows Nest 2008-09 9680
Warwick Bateman Chatswood 2008-09 9680
Harold Sharp Crows Nest 2009-10 9680
Danny Low Mosman 2010-11 9680
Robert J Aitken Lower Blue Mountains 2010-11 9690
Ray Southeren Gosford North 2011-12 9680
Robert Fraser Gosford North 2012-13 9680
Malcolm Deall Gosford North 2013-14 9685
Ken Austin Gosford North 2014-15 9685
Tony Castley eClub of Greater Sydney 2015-16 9685
John Wakefield Lower Blue Mountains 2017-18 9685
David Rands Beecroft 2019-20 9685
Angelo Raveane Crows Nest 2021-22 9685
Barry Philps       
Hills Kellyville  2022-23 9685
Haran Ramachan
e Club of Greater Sydney 2022-23 9685